top of page

Congratulations to the 2023 Dr. Peg E. Daw NFAR Award Recipients!

The Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) granted the 2023 Dr. Peg E. Daw Nurse Faculty Annual Recognition Awards (NFAR), recognizing faculty for their contributions to nursing education and service to Maryland nursing students.

This award has been renamed in honor of Dr. Peg E. Daw, former Nurse Support Program (NSP) II Grant Administrator and fierce advocate for nursing education in the state of Maryland. Dr. Daw passed away in December 2022.

The awards, administered by MHEC and funded through the Health Services Cost Review Commission (HSCRC), showcased 14 of Maryland's finest nurse faculty.

The awardees were nominated by their Dean or Director and chosen for demonstrated excellence in the following areas:

  • Excellence in Teaching

  • Impact on Students

  • Engagement in the Nursing Program and Employment Institution

  • Innovation in Education and Technology

  • Contributions to Nursing Education

Stay tuned for our LNF 2023 NFAR Spotlight Series coming soon! We will be featuring several of these excellent faculty members, including:

  • Dr. Sharon Wilks, Bowie State University

  • Michele Blash, Hagerstown Community College

  • Dr. Sonia Galvan, Harford Community College

  • Dr. Tina Reid, Salisbury University

  • Dr. Kathy Ogle, Towson University

  • Dr. Christina Schlaerth, Carroll Community College

  • Dr. Erin Wright, Johns Hopkins University

  • Dr. Jercilla Murmu, Washington Adventist University

  • Dr. Jana Goodwin, University of Maryland School of Nursing

Congratulations to all of the faculty who received this distinction! To learn more about the Dr. Peg E. Daw NFAR awards, visit the NSP II website.

32 views0 comments


bottom of page